El Morro
Montecristi
Punta Rucia
Montecrisit
Malecón
Montecristi

Montecristi

Bienvenue à

Montecristi

Joyau du nord-ouest, la province frontalière de Montecristi offre un paysage sauvage et spectaculaire prêt pour des aventures hors des sentiers battus. Des rizières, des bananeraies, des chèvres et des cactus géants en bordure de route, tels des sentinelles, laissent place à des marais salants et des falaises de calcaire étreignant un océan Atlantique riche en vagues. Dans ce paysage paraissant en partie désertique, en partie méditerranéen, d’épais tunnels de mangroves conduisent à des lagons d’eau douce alors que des îlots au large grouillent d’oiseaux migrateurs et offrent des plages de sable blanc désertes.

Voir plus

Sans prétention, la ville de San Fernando de Montecristi – fondée par Nicolás de Ovando en 1501 et portant le nom du roi Ferdinand d’Espagne – révèle un héritage riche et inspirant. C’est là que le cubain José Martí et le général dominicain Máximo Gómez ont planifié l’indépendance de Cuba vis-à-vis de l’Espagne – vous pouvez voir des documents clés exposés dans le Museo Máximo Gómez. Juan Isidro Jiménez, président de la République dominicaine de 1899 à 1911, a vécu à Montecristi, alors que des immigrants affluaient de l’Europe, des États-Unis et de l’Amérique du Sud pendant cette période pour prendre part à l’exportation du bois et des produits agricoles de cette région. La ville fut transformée en un important port commercial. Peu savent également que Montecristi est l’endroit où le premier aqueduc, chemin de fer et téléphone furent installés en République dominicaine.

Les couchers de soleil embellissent la petite mais très belle promenade et plage de la ville, entourées d’une multitude d’hôtels et de restaurants servant la traditionnelle spécialité régionale à base de chevreau aux épices. De votre table sur le front de mer et de tout point de la ville, vous verrez les vues caractéristiques de El Morro – le plateau emblématique dominant Montecristi comme s’il s’agissait de sa propre « Montagne de la Table », au pied duquel repose une spectaculaire plage dorée. Ceux qui quittent le sable et s’aventurent dans l’océan Atlantique peuvent faire du kitesurf ou plonger sous l’eau pour explorer la barrière de corail, parallèle à El Morro et s’étendant jusqu’à Punta Rucia. C’est le récif le plus grand et le mieux conservé de la République dominicaine. Au loin, en face de la baie de Montecristi, les meilleures aventures de plongée snorkeling et de plongée sous-marine du pays vous attendent au large de Cayo Siete Hermanos, une série de sept îlots faisant également office de principal lieu de nidification de fous bruns et d’oiseaux migrateurs.

Enfin et surtout, vous voudrez découvrir des épaves – les eaux de Montecristi sont connues comme « le cimetière de bateaux des Caraïbes » avec plus de 450 galions coulés, remontant à l’époque de Colomb, dont la plupart attendent d’être découverts et étudiés par les archéologues marins.

Avec des terres sauvages, qui conduisent inévitablement à des surprises au grand air, Montecristi est l’endroit où vous pouvez vivre votre propre aventure de Pirates des Caraïbes.

La principale entrée à Montecristi est l’aéroport international de Cibao (STI) à Santiago, suivi de l’aéroport international Gregorio Luperón (POP) à Puerto Plata.

DERNIERS ÉVÈNEMENTS
Déc 1 @ 8:30 - 11:30

Milly Quezada “Abriendo Puertas”

Novocentro
The Queen of Merengue, Milly Quezada, will perform in the show « Abriendo Puertas » (Opening Doo...
Déc 2 @ 8:30 - 11:30

Milly Quezada “Abriendo Puertas”

Novocentro
The Queen of Merengue, Milly Quezada, will perform in the show « Abriendo Puertas » (Opening Doo...
Déc 3 - Déc 4

Turizoneando

Colonial Zone
Get to know closely all our history and culture and let yourself be carried away by the magic and ch...
GUIDES & CARTES
generic-parallax-left-1

Attractions à Montecristi 

Recherche d’attraction

 
 
Playa Buen Hombre, située dans un village de pêcheurs, est très connue parmi les passionnés de kitesurf pour son étendue de sable blanc et son école de kitesurf, se trouvant sur place et vous apprenant à chevaucher les intenses vagues le long de ce littoral atlantique sauvage.
Famille, Kitesurf et Surf, Les Plages
Offrant l’un des paysages les plus époustouflants de la République dominicaine, les côtes dorées de Playa El Morro sont étreintes par d’imposantes falaises de calcaire – y compris El Morro – avec de magnifiques vagues bleues de l’Atlantique. Vous devrez descendre de grands rochers pour atteindre la plage.
Aventure Et Ecotourisme, Famille, Les Plages
Sur la plage située derrière El Morro, le sable ivoire flirte avec les eaux claires couleur émeraude de la baie. Il est possible de louer un bateau pour visiter les îlots avoisinants et les plages isolées du parc national de Montecristi. Des parties de pêche et des excursions en bateau sont organisées dans la marina […]
Aventure Et Ecotourisme
Playa Juan de Bolaños borde commodément la promenade du front de mer, offrant des vues sur l’emblématique falaise El Morro. En semaine, les habitants affluent sur cette plage de sable blanc et aux eaux turquoise pour regarder le coucher du soleil juste devant la côte.
Famille, Les Plages
Punta Rucia offre une plage de sable blanc étincelant et de calmes eaux turquoise, flanquée de vues sur les montagnes abruptes. Principal point de départ pour Cayo Arena, des milliers de visiteurs viennent ici quotidiennement pour s’y rendre et faire de la plongée dans ce grand récif corallien.
Famille, Les Plages, Observation de la vie sauvage
Dans la partie nord-ouest du pays, Montecristi convient aux plongeurs expérimentés. Cette zone comporte des dizaines d’épaves authentiques de l’armada espagnole coulées à cause du mauvais temps et des batailles contre les pirates anglais et hollandais. Les îlots de Cayo Siete Hermanos offrent de magnifiques opportunités de plongée avec masque et tuba.
Plongée, Sports Nautiques
La tour de l’horloge sur la place publique de Montecristi, ayant la forme d’une petite Tour Eiffel, a été conçue par l’ingénieur français Alexandre Gustave Eiffel et construite par le célèbre horloger français Jean-Paul Garnier.
Culture
Montecristi est célèbre pour sa grande diversité de poissons et fruits de mer. A Montecristi, vous dégusterez un bon repas dans des restaurants tels que le Cocomar, Hôtel Marina del Mar et Terraza Doña Ana. Un plat local traditionnel très apprécié est le « chivo liniero » (chèvre en ragoût ou rôtie au four) servi dans les […]
Gastronomie
Guettez les lamantins dans le sanctuaire de mammifères marins, où quelques chemins de randonnée vous conduisent vers un lagon protégé, abritant le plus grand nombre de lamantins des Caraïbes, un herbivore en danger, de la République dominicaine.
Famille, Observation de la vie sauvage, Parcs nationaux et zones protégées, Randonnées
Le « sentier du crabe » vous offre un parcours à travers une forêt sèche et de brousse en direction de l’imposant El Morro. Vous suivrez un chemin en partie rocheux pour atteindre le sommet du plateau, tout un défi ! Une fois en haut, les vues panoramiques embrassent l’Atlantique.
Randonnées

Où se loger à

Montecristi

Filtre
Categories
Apply Filter Réinitialiser
Centrer
Circulation
A vélo
Transports

Commencez à taper et appuyez sur la touche Entrée pour rechercher:

Send this to a friend

El Morro
Montecristi
Malecón
Montecristi

Montecristi

Welcome to

Montecristi

The jewel of the northwest, the border province of Montecristi presents a wild and striking landscape ripe for off-the-beaten-track adventures. Rice plantations, banana fields, goats and giant cacti stand sentry roadside, leading towards salt ponds and onto limestone cliffs hugging a wave-rich Atlantic Ocean. Around this part desert and part Mediterranean-like scenery, thick mangrove tunnels give way to fresh lagoons, while offshore cayes teem with migratory birds, and offer secluded white sand beaches.

Learn more

Unpretentious, the town of San Fernando de Montecristi–founded by Nicolás de Ovando in 1501 and named after King Ferdinand of Spain–reveals a rich and inspiring legacy. It’s where Cuban José Martí and Dominican General Máximo Gómez planned for Cuba’s independence from Spain–you can view key documents on display at the Museo Máximo Gómez. Juan Isidro Jiménez, President of the Dominican Republic from 1899 to 1911, hailed from Montecristi, while immigrants flocked from Europe, the United States, and South America during this period to help export the region’s wood and agricultural products. The town was transformed into a major trading port. Few also know that Montecristi is where the Dominican Republic’s first aqueduct, railroad, and telephones were installed.

Sunsets grace the town’s small but beautiful boardwalk and beach, with multiple surrounding hotels and restaurants serving the area’s traditional spicy goat specialty. From your seafront table and from any point in town are unmistakable views of El Morro–the iconic mesa looming over Montecristi like its very own “Table Mountain,” at the foot of which sits a spectacular blond beach. Those who venture off the sand onto the Atlantic Ocean can kitesurf to their heart’s content, or go underwater to explore the coral barrier reef running parallel to El Morro and stretching all the way to Punta Rucia. It’s the largest and healthiest reef in the DR. In the distance, across the bay of Montecristi, the best snorkeling and diving adventures in the country lie off Cayo Siete Hermanos, a series of seven cayes doubling as a primary nesting site of brown boobies and migratory birds.

Last but not least, you’ll want to look out for shipwrecks–Montecristi’s waters are known as the “ship graveyard of the Caribbean,” with over 450 sunken galleons dating back to Columbus’s days, many of which await discovery and study from marine archeologists.

With a wild terrain that leads to inevitable outdoor surprises, Montecristi is where you can live out your own Pirates of the Caribbean adventure.

The main gateway to Montecristi is the Cibao International Airport (STI) in Santiago, followed by the Gregorio Luperón International Airport (POP), in Puerto Plata.

LATEST EVENTS
Aug 14 @ 8:00 pm - Nov 20 @ 11:00 pm

2019 National Symphony Orchestra Concert Season

Teatro Nacional
The National Symphony Orchestra Concert Season will take place from August 14 to November 20 at the ...
Aug 19 - Sep 19

II American Meat Fest

The second edition of the American Meat Fest offers a complete proposal of cuts of American meat wit...
Sep 6 - Sep 21

Gastronomic Journeys “Samaná Exquisita”

The Tourism Cluster of Samaná and the Association of Hotels and Tourism Companies of Samaná invite...
GUIDES & MAPS

generic-parallax-left-1

Attractions in Montecristi

Attraction Search

 
 
The Montecristi Underwater National Park boasts a rich coral barrier. It is the most untouched and vibrant reef in the country, and yet the least visited. You’ll spot gorgeous hard and soft coral gardens at various depths, including large moose horn corals, and schools of small tropical fish.
National Parks + Protected Areas, Scuba Diving + Snorkeling, Wildlife Spotting
Uncover the history of Cuba’s independence! Once the 19th century home of Dominican General Máximo Gómez, the small, single story residence turned museum houses key historical documents related to Cuba’s independence.
Iconic Sights, Museums
Playa Buen Hombre, located in a fishing village, is well known amid avid kitesurfers for its white sand stretch, and its on-site kite school teaching you how to ride the intense waves along this wild Atlantic shoreline.
Beaches, Family-Friendly, Surfing + Kitesurfing
Boasting one of the most breathtaking sceneries in the Dominican Republic, the golden shores of Playa El Morro are hugged by towering limestone cliffs–including El Morro–with gorgeous blue Atlantic waves. You will hike down a series of boulders to reach the beach.
Beaches, Ecotourism, Family-Friendly
Playa Juan de Bolaños conveniently lines the seafront boulevard, offering views of the iconic El Morro cliff. Residents flock to this white sand beach and its turquoise waters on weekdays to watch the sun setting right before its shores.
Beaches, Family-Friendly
Punta Rucia boasts a brilliant white sand beach and calm turquoise sea, flanked by soaring mountain views. The main jumping-off point to Cayo Arena, thousands of visitors come here daily to reach the caye and snorkel off the large coral reef just offshore.
Beaches, Family-Friendly, Wildlife Spotting
A paradise for snorkeling fans, this area boasts some of the most abundant marine life in DR, with corals and sponges that surround the cay, including schools of surgeonfish, sergeant majors, damselfish, angelfish, and yellowtail snappers swimming around your feet.
Excursions, Scuba Diving + Snorkeling
The clock tower in Montecristi’s town square, shaped like a mini-version of the Eiffel Tower, was designed by French engineer Alexandre Gustave Eiffel of Eiffel Tower-fame, and built by famous French clockmaker Jean-Paul Garnier.
Iconic Sights
Before arriving in the heart of town are Montecristi’s renowned salt ponds. You can tour the area to see how sea salt is made; seawater is concentrated in shallow, man-made ponds before the seawater evaporates, leaving behind large salt crystals that are then transformed into table salt.
Iconic Sights
The “crab trail” takes you on a route through dry forest and scrubland on the way to the towering El Morro. You’ll climb a partly rocky, challenging path to reach the mesa’s summit. Once there, the panoramic views sweep over the Atlantic.
Hiking

Where to stay in

Montecristi

Filter
Categories
Apply Filter Reset
Center map
Traffic
Bicycling
Transit
Google MapsGet Directions

Start typing and press Enter to search

Send this to a friend