Monumento a los Héroes de la Restauración
Santiago
Monumento a los Héroes de la Restauración
Santiago

Santiago

Bienvenue à

Santiago

Santiago de los Caballeros porte le nom des 30 aristocrates espagnols qui suivirent Colomb et s’établirent ici en 1495. Santiago fut la première capitale du pays avant de succomber à un tremblement de terre en 1562. De nos jours, la deuxième ville de la République dominicaine – affectueusement surnommée « Ciudad Corazón » ou la ville au cœur de la Vallée du Cibao – est un centre moderne et cosmopolite devant sa prospérité au commerce, aux finances, à l’éducation et aux services et offrant une grande richesse culturelle.

Voir plus

Dominant ses rues urbaines tentaculaires, le Monumento a Los Héroes de la Restauración –(monument aux Héros de la Restauration) affectueusement surnommé El Monumento – est le principal emblème et cœur social de la ville, où les habitants et les visiteurs se rassemblent sur ses pelouses. Cependant, il est aussi un rappel constant des hommes qui ont reconquis l’indépendance de la République dominicaine vis-à-vis de l’Espagne en 1865. La chaîne de montagnes, Cordillera Central, se profile au loin et offre une multitude d’aventures pédestres. L’histoire, l’art et la culture ne sont jamais bien loin à Santiago – le Centro culturel León offre une exposition très complète sur le riche héritage du pays – et font partie intégrante de cette importante région en tant que ville natale des Sœurs Mirabal, de même que de plusieurs présidents dominicains. Accueillant des universités, la région jouit également d’une population dynamique, composée d’enfants du millénaire et de professionnels, tous profitant des divertissements et de la vie nocturne animée de la ville, que proposent plus de 100 discothèques, bars et salons particulièrement au centre-ville.

Malgré une vie citadine intense, les traditions sont bien ancrées. La passion pour le baseball est à son plus haut point car Santiago est le berceau de l’équipe très populaire Aguilas Cibaeñas, gagnante de trois Séries des Caraïbes et de 22 titres nationaux depuis 1952. Dans les environs de la ville, vivent certains artisans et peintres les plus talentueux de la République dominicaine alors que le Carnaval de Santiago constitue l’un des événements les plus vénérés du pays, avec les costumes de diable, faits main, les plus ornés de bijoux après ceux de La Vega. Pour commencer, la nature a doté la province de sols fertiles qui permettent de cultiver le tabac le plus fin du monde, accueillant 90 % des plus grandes plantations et fabriques de cigares et donnant à Santiago le surnom de « Pays du Cigare ». Les amateurs de puros trouveront également les fabriques des premières marques près du centre ville à Tamboril, proposant des visites gratuites tous les jours et la possibilité de faire des achats exclusifs.

Cultivée, innovante et trépidante, telle est la ville de Santiago. Cependant à quelques minutes de là, la vue apaisante des montagnes et l’air frais vous transportent loin de l’effervescence, vous plongeant au cœur du magnifique Cibao.

L’aéroport international de Cibao (STI) est commodément situé à une demi-heure du centre ville.

DERNIERS ÉVÈNEMENTS
Sep 21 @ 6:30 - Sep 27 @ 6:30

PGA Tour Event: Corales Puntacana Resort & Club Championship 2020

Corales Golf Club
The third edition of the Corales Puntacana Resort & Club Championship will be held at the Tom Fa...
Nov 12

HEAT Awards – Fifth Edition

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
The fifth edition of the HEAT Awards will be a great celebration with a taste of sea breeze and will...
Mar 21, 2021

GFNY Punta Cana 2021

BlueMall Puntacana
GFNY, one of the most important cycling events worldwide, will be held for the second time in Punta ...
GUIDES & CARTES
rock-generic-parallax

Attractions à Santiago 

Recherche d’attraction

 
 
C’est la plus grande université privée de la République Dominicaine. Elle dispose d’un campus tentaculaire bien ombragé dans la ville.
Culture
Les gourmets fréquentent les restaurants gastronomiques de la zone Los Jardines Metropolitanos pour la cuisine internationale. Mais dans cette zone, La Comai se distingue par la qualité de sa cuisine dominicaine. Vous ne pouvez pas quitter Santiago sans être passé par l’une des « lechoneras », un restaurant traditionnel de porc à la broche. A Santiago, tout […]
Gastronomie
Le stade Cibao est situé au centre de Santiago, avenue Imbert, à une heure de route environ des hôtels de Puerto Plata ou de Jarabacoa. C’est là que jouent les Aguilas Cibaeñas (les Aigles du Cibao), qui comptent 20 victoires à leur actif en championnat – la dernière en 2008. L’équipe évolue en jaune.
Baseball
Santiago offre une multitude de centres commerciaux – vous trouverez de nombreuses boutiques de créateurs, de même que des magasins de cadeaux. C’est également ici que se situe l’historique Mercado Modelo de la ville, un très beau marché couvert moderne, rempli de petites boutiques vendant des articles dominicains fabriqués localement.
Shopping
Dans la fabrique de cigares Tubano vous pourrez également découvrir de près la technique du roulage des cigares – préparez-vous à être étonnés par la dextérité et la vitesse à laquelle cela est fait – en même temps que vous apprendrez tout sur le processus de fabrication.
Rhum et cigares
La ville de Santiago est connue pour sa vie nocturne électrique. Vous trouverez des bars et des salons autour de l’emblématique Monumento a los Héroes situé en plein centre ville, où les foules affluent pour se divertir après le travail et pendant le week-end.
Vie Nocturne

Où se loger à

Santiago

Filtre
Categories
Apply Filter Réinitialiser
Centrer
Circulation
A vélo
Transports

Start typing and press Enter to search

Send this to a friend

Monumento a los Héroes de la Restauración
Santiago
Monumento a los Héroes de la Restauración
Santiago

Santiago

Welcome to

Santiago

Santiago de los Caballeros–named after the 30 Spanish aristocrats who followed Columbus and settled here in 1495–was the country’s first capital before it suffered an earthquake in 1562. Today, the Dominican Republic’s second largest city–affectionately dubbed “Ciudad Corazón” or the city in the heart of the Cibao Valley–is a modern and cosmopolitan center thriving in commerce, finance, education, and services, and pulsating with culture.

Learn more

Towering over its sprawling urban streets, the Monumento a Los Héroes de la Restauración–affectionately called El Monumento–is the city’s chief landmark and social hub, where residents and visitors gather on its lawns, but also serves as a constant reminder of the men who regained the DR’s independence from Spain in 1865. Looming in the distance is the Cordillera Central mountain range, replete with hiking adventures. History, arts, and culture are never far in Santiago–Centro Cultural León offers a comprehensive display of the country’s rich heritage–and are part and parcel of this significant region as birthplace of the Mirabal Sisters, as well as several Dominican presidents. Home to universities, the area also brims with a dynamic population of millenials, amid professionals, all of whom enjoy the city’s vibrant entertainment and nightlife, boasting over 100 discos, bars, and lounges within the downtown area.

Despite the big city life, traditions run deep. Baseball passion thrives, as Santiago is home to the popular Aguilas Cibaeñas team, winners of three Caribbean Series and 22 national titles since 1952. In the city’s surrounding areas are some of the most talented artisans and painters in the DR, while Santiago Carnival ranks among the most revered in the country, with the most bejeweled handmade devil costumes after La Vega’s. To boot, nature has blessed the province with fertile soils that grow the world’s finest tobacco, home to 90 percent of the largest cigar plantations and factories and earning Santiago the nickname “Cigar Country.” Puro aficionados will also find all the premium brand factories near the city center at Tamboril, offering free daily tours and exclusive shopping opportunities.

Cultured, innovative, and fast-paced: that’s Santiago. Yet minutes outside city limits, the peaceful sight of mountains and cool air whisk you away from the hustle and bustle, plunging you into the stunning Cibao heartland.

The Cibao International Airport (STI) is conveniently located a half-hour from the city center.

LATEST EVENTS
Jul 10 @ 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Bonyé in the Colonial City

Ruinas de San Francisco
Grupo Bonyé returns with free presentations every Sunday with all the flavor and joy that character...
Jul 17 @ 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Bonyé in the Colonial City

Ruinas de San Francisco
Grupo Bonyé returns with free presentations every Sunday with all the flavor and joy that character...
Jul 24 @ 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Bonyé in the Colonial City

Ruinas de San Francisco
Grupo Bonyé returns with free presentations every Sunday with all the flavor and joy that character...
GUIDES & MAPS

rock-generic-parallax

Attractions in Santiago 

Attraction Search

 
 
Every Sunday in February, people masquerade as devils and dress in costumes with mirrors and bells to parade alongside Av. Las Carreras to the Monumento. The costumes are works of art. The devils carry inflated port bladders to make their way through the crowds.
Iconic Sights
Place your bets at one of Santiago’s casinos, conveniently set within hotels downtown.
Casinos & Gaming
The wealthy head for the gourmet restaurants in the Los Jardines Metropolitanos area for international cuisine. But in that area, La Comai stands out for its very Dominican food. A visit to Santiago is not complete without stopping by one of the “lechoneras”, the traditional spit-roasted pork eateries. Everyone in Santiago seems to have their […]
Dining
The city of Santiago is known for its electric nightlife. You’ll find rows of bars and lounges all around the city’s iconic Monumento a los Héroes downtown, where crowds flock for fun after work hours and weekends.
Music + Nightlife
As the second largest city, Santiago offers an array of shopping malls–you’ll find plenty of designer boutiques, as well as gift shops. You’ll also find the city’s historic Mercado Modelo here, a beautiful, modern indoor market filled with small shops selling locally made Dominican items.
Shopping
A popular stop on excursions through the area, Tubano’s cigar factory is another excellent place to watch the cigar-rolling process up close–prepare to be amazed at how fast and skillfully it is done–while learning all about the manufacturing process.
Rum + Cigars

Where to stay in

Santiago

Santiago Blog

Filter
Categories
Apply Filter Reset
Center map
Traffic
Bicycling
Transit

Start typing and press Enter to search

Send this to a friend