Malecón
Montecristi

Montecristi

Bienvenue à

Montecristi

Joyau du nord-ouest, la province frontalière de Montecristi offre un paysage sauvage et spectaculaire prêt pour des aventures hors des sentiers battus. Des rizières, des bananeraies, des chèvres et des cactus géants en bordure de route, tels des sentinelles, laissent place à des marais salants et des falaises de calcaire étreignant un océan Atlantique riche en vagues. Dans ce paysage paraissant en partie désertique, en partie méditerranéen, d’épais tunnels de mangroves conduisent à des lagons d’eau douce alors que des îlots au large grouillent d’oiseaux migrateurs et offrent des plages de sable blanc désertes.

Voir plus

Sans prétention, la ville de San Fernando de Montecristi – fondée par Nicolás de Ovando en 1501 et portant le nom du roi Ferdinand d’Espagne – révèle un héritage riche et inspirant. C’est là que le cubain José Martí et le général dominicain Máximo Gómez ont planifié l’indépendance de Cuba vis-à-vis de l’Espagne – vous pouvez voir des documents clés exposés dans le Museo Máximo Gómez. Juan Isidro Jiménez, président de la République dominicaine de 1899 à 1911, a vécu à Montecristi, alors que des immigrants affluaient de l’Europe, des États-Unis et de l’Amérique du Sud pendant cette période pour prendre part à l’exportation du bois et des produits agricoles de cette région. La ville fut transformée en un important port commercial. Peu savent également que Montecristi est l’endroit où le premier aqueduc, chemin de fer et téléphone furent installés en République dominicaine.

Les couchers de soleil embellissent la petite mais très belle promenade et plage de la ville, entourées d’une multitude d’hôtels et de restaurants servant la traditionnelle spécialité régionale à base de chevreau aux épices. De votre table sur le front de mer et de tout point de la ville, vous verrez les vues caractéristiques de El Morro – le plateau emblématique dominant Montecristi comme s’il s’agissait de sa propre « Montagne de la Table », au pied duquel repose une spectaculaire plage dorée. Ceux qui quittent le sable et s’aventurent dans l’océan Atlantique peuvent faire du kitesurf ou plonger sous l’eau pour explorer la barrière de corail, parallèle à El Morro et s’étendant jusqu’à Punta Rucia. C’est le récif le plus grand et le mieux conservé de la République dominicaine. Au loin, en face de la baie de Montecristi, les meilleures aventures de plongée snorkeling et de plongée sous-marine du pays vous attendent au large de Cayo Siete Hermanos, une série de sept îlots faisant également office de principal lieu de nidification de fous bruns et d’oiseaux migrateurs.

Enfin et surtout, vous voudrez découvrir des épaves – les eaux de Montecristi sont connues comme « le cimetière de bateaux des Caraïbes » avec plus de 450 galions coulés, remontant à l’époque de Colomb, dont la plupart attendent d’être découverts et étudiés par les archéologues marins.

Avec des terres sauvages, qui conduisent inévitablement à des surprises au grand air, Montecristi est l’endroit où vous pouvez vivre votre propre aventure de Pirates des Caraïbes.

La principale entrée à Montecristi est l’aéroport international de Cibao (STI) à Santiago, suivi de l’aéroport international Gregorio Luperón (POP) à Puerto Plata.

DERNIERS ÉVÈNEMENTS
Oct 12 @ 5:00 - Déc 17 @ 11:00

Dominican Winter Baseball Season

Estadio Quisqueya Juan Marichal
Fall and winter are full of life with the games of the professional baseball series, which take plac...
Nov 22, 2019 - Avr 30, 2020

Being Oscar de la Renta – Tribute Exhibition

Centro León
The Eduardo León Jimenes Foundation, Centro León and Grupo Puntacana invite you to the exhibition ...
Nov 26, 2019 - Jan 5, 2020

Christmas at the National Palace

Palacio Nacional
The National Palace will be open to the public until January 5, 2020 to enjoy the beauty of the illu...
GUIDES & CARTES
generic-parallax-left-1

Attractions à Montecristi 

Recherche d’attraction

 
 
Un paradis pour les passionnés de snorkeling, cette zone offre l’un des mondes marins les plus abondants de la République dominicaine, avec des coraux et des éponges entourant l’îlot, y compris des bancs de poissons-chirurgiens, poissons-demoiselles, scalaires et limandes à queue jaune qui nagent autour de vos pieds.
Attractions nautiques, Famille, Îles et Cayes, Les Plages
Formés par des sables coralliens, ils offrent un monde d’exploration sous-marine et de vie sauvage. Sous l’eau, des forêts submergées, des fonds sablonneux et de grandes tombants rocheux font de cette zone un site unique pour le snorkeling et la plongée sous-marine de jour comme de nuit.
Attractions nautiques, Îles et Cayes, Observation de la vie sauvage, Parcs nationaux et zones protégées, Plongée
Imitant la cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris, cette église catholique se dresse à une extrémité de la place publique, attirant les visiteurs par sa conception néoclassique-gothique du XIXe siècle, ses vitraux impressionnants et son beffroi entourant un autel en acajou richement orné.
Culture, Églises, Mariages, Venues de Mariage
Les épaves de plus de 15 galions coulés datant du XIVe, XVIe et XVIIe siècle reposent dans les eaux peu profondes au large de Montecristi et sont accessibles aux plongeurs débutants.
Plongée
Cette caye de sable blanc se trouve en face de la pointe de El Morro, à quelques minutes au large de la côte de Montecristi, facilement accessible en bateau pour une journée d’excursion vous permettant de profiter de sable doux, d’eaux turquoise et calmes à un pas de la ville.
Famille, Îles et Cayes, Les Plages
Avant d’atteindre le cœur de la ville, vous verrez les célèbres marais salants de Montecristi. Vous pouvez les visiter et découvrir la production de sel : de l’eau de mer est concentrée dans des marais peu profonds, construits par l’homme, avant qu’elle ne s’évapore, formant des cristaux de sel.
Culture
Découvrez l’histoire de l’indépendance de Cuba ! Demeure au XIXe siècle du général dominicain, Máximo Gómez, la petite maison d’un étage, convertie en musée, abrite des documents historiques clés concernant l’indépendance de Cuba.
Culture, Musées
Montecristi est un des lieux privilégiés des Caraïbes pour les amateurs d’oiseaux. Les ornithologues pourront y observer de nombreuses espèces: fous, pélicans bruns, frégates superbes, tantales d’Amérique, spatules, grandes aigrettes, de nombreux hérons, sternes, gravelots et chevaliers. Avec un peu de chance, vous pourrez y apercevoir une colonie de flamants pataugeant sur le rivage.
Aventure Et Ecotourisme
El Morro, promontoire de 242 mètres, embellit le paysage côtier de Montecristi avec l’une des vues les plus spectaculaires et uniques du pays. Le paysage de forêt sèche subtropicale autour de El Morro est entouré de grandes mangroves que l’on peut voir de près à pied ou en bateau.
Aventure Et Ecotourisme, Culture, Famille, Observation de la vie sauvage, Parcs nationaux et zones protégées
Le parc national de Montecristi offre une riche barrière de corail. C’est le récif le plus intact et vivant du pays. Vous apercevrez de magnifiques jardins de coraux mous et durs à différentes profondeurs, y compris de grands coraux corne d’élan et des bancs de petits poissons tropicaux.
Observation de la vie sauvage, Parcs nationaux et zones protégées, Plongée + plongée en apnée

Où se loger à

Montecristi

Filtre
Categories
Apply Filter Réinitialiser
Centrer
Circulation
A vélo
Transports

Start typing and press Enter to search

Send this to a friend

El Morro
Montecristi
Malecón
Montecristi

Montecristi

Welcome to

Montecristi

The jewel of the northwest, the border province of Montecristi presents a wild and striking landscape ripe for off-the-beaten-track adventures. Rice plantations, banana fields, goats and giant cacti stand sentry roadside, leading towards salt ponds and onto limestone cliffs hugging a wave-rich Atlantic Ocean. Around this part desert and part Mediterranean-like scenery, thick mangrove tunnels give way to fresh lagoons, while offshore cayes teem with migratory birds, and offer secluded white sand beaches.

Learn more

Unpretentious, the town of San Fernando de Montecristi–founded by Nicolás de Ovando in 1501 and named after King Ferdinand of Spain–reveals a rich and inspiring legacy. It’s where Cuban José Martí and Dominican General Máximo Gómez planned for Cuba’s independence from Spain–you can view key documents on display at the Museo Máximo Gómez. Juan Isidro Jiménez, President of the Dominican Republic from 1899 to 1911, hailed from Montecristi, while immigrants flocked from Europe, the United States, and South America during this period to help export the region’s wood and agricultural products. The town was transformed into a major trading port. Few also know that Montecristi is where the Dominican Republic’s first aqueduct, railroad, and telephones were installed.

Sunsets grace the town’s small but beautiful boardwalk and beach, with multiple surrounding hotels and restaurants serving the area’s traditional spicy goat specialty. From your seafront table and from any point in town are unmistakable views of El Morro–the iconic mesa looming over Montecristi like its very own “Table Mountain,” at the foot of which sits a spectacular blond beach. Those who venture off the sand onto the Atlantic Ocean can kitesurf to their heart’s content, or go underwater to explore the coral barrier reef running parallel to El Morro and stretching all the way to Punta Rucia. It’s the largest and healthiest reef in the DR. In the distance, across the bay of Montecristi, the best snorkeling and diving adventures in the country lie off Cayo Siete Hermanos, a series of seven cayes doubling as a primary nesting site of brown boobies and migratory birds.

Last but not least, you’ll want to look out for shipwrecks–Montecristi’s waters are known as the “ship graveyard of the Caribbean,” with over 450 sunken galleons dating back to Columbus’s days, many of which await discovery and study from marine archeologists.

With a wild terrain that leads to inevitable outdoor surprises, Montecristi is where you can live out your own Pirates of the Caribbean adventure.

The main gateway to Montecristi is the Cibao International Airport (STI) in Santiago, followed by the Gregorio Luperón International Airport (POP), in Puerto Plata.

LATEST EVENTS
Aug 14 - Sep 16

“Reasoning of Identity” Exhibition – Oscar Abreu

Altos de Chavón
The Altos de Chavón Gallery, in La Romana, presents the exhibition “Reasoning of IdentityR...
Aug 14 @ 8:00 pm - Nov 20 @ 11:00 pm

2019 National Symphony Orchestra Concert Season

Teatro Nacional
The National Symphony Orchestra Concert Season will take place from August 14 to November 20 at the ...
Aug 19 - Sep 19

II American Meat Fest

The second edition of the American Meat Fest offers a complete proposal of cuts of American meat wit...
GUIDES & MAPS

generic-parallax-left-1

Attractions in Montecristi

Attraction Search

 
 
Some of the best bird watching in the Caribbean can be found in Montecristi. Ornithological enthusiasts can spot boobies, brown pelicans, magnificent frigate birds, wood storks, spoonbills, great egrets, a variety of herons, terns, plovers and willets – you may even catch a glimpse of a flock of flamingos near the shore.
Ecotourism
Cayo Arena offers schools of tropical fish that can also easily be seen in shallow turquoise waters, making this spot a paradise for snorkeling fans; the area boasts some of the most abundant marine life in the DR, with corals and sponges, and schools of tropical fish swimming around your feet.
Beaches, Boating Attractions, Family-Friendly, Islands + Cayes
Formed by coral sands, they offer a world of underwater exploration and wildlife. Around the cayes’ shores, you’ll spot cacti, iguanas, and crabs. Underwater, submerged forests, sandy bottoms, and large rocky walls make this area a one-stop site for snorkeling, day or night diving.
Boating Attractions, Islands + Cayes, National Parks + Protected Areas, Scuba Diving + Snorkeling, Wildlife Spotting
On the northwestern side of the country, Montecristi is for experienced divers. There are dozens of real shipwrecks from the time of the Spanish armada sunk due to weather and in battle with English and Dutch pirates. Snorkeling is wonderful at the Cayo Siete Hermanos islands. The infamous pirate Francis Drake used Montecristi as a […]
Scuba Diving + Snorkeling, Water Sports
El Morro rises 242 meters (794 feet) above sea level, gracing Montecristi’s coastal scenery with one of the most striking, unique views in DR. The dry, subtropical forest landscape around El Morro is surrounded by extensive stands of mangroves that can be seen up close on foot, or by boat.
Ecotourism, Family-Friendly, Iconic Sights, National Parks + Protected Areas, Wildlife Spotting
Look out for manatees at the Marine Mammal Sanctuary, where a couple of hiking trails lead you towards a protected lagoon, home to the largest number of endangered herbivore West Indian Manatees in DR.
Family-Friendly, Hiking, National Parks + Protected Areas, Wildlife Spotting
Emulating Paris’s Notre Dame Cathedral, this historic Catholic church stands on one end of the town square, attracting visitors with its 19th century neoclassical-gothic design, striking stained glass windows, and a belfry surrounding an ornate mahogany altar.
Churches, Iconic Sights, Wedding Venues, Weddings & Romance
This small white sand caye lies across the corner from El Morro, just a couple of minutes off the coast of Montecristi, easily accessible by boat for a day out enjoying soft sand, calm turquoise seas, and seclusion near town.
Beaches, Family-Friendly, Islands + Cayes
Montecristi is famous for its diverse offerings of fish and seafood. In Montecristi you can enjoy a good meal at restaurants such as Cocomar, Hotel Marina del Mar and Terraza Doña Ana. Another traditional local favorite is “chivo liniero” (stewed or oven-baked goat) that is served at small roadside restaurants dotted along the Montecristi to […]
Dining
The Malecón in Montecristi has become a popular area for locals to enjoy music on the weekends. There are several other spots in town where you can dance to bachata and merengue, sometimes to live music.
Music + Nightlife

Where to stay in

Montecristi

Filter
Categories
Apply Filter Reset
Center map
Traffic
Bicycling
Transit

Start typing and press Enter to search

Send this to a friend